I am researching the effects of the New Alaska State Standards as it pertains to our district's addition to writer's workshop to our literacy instruction.  I believe the best method of collecting data would be through questionnaires to my grade-level colleagues.  I am most interested in how we can best support our kindergarten students through this process.  Is writer's workshop the most efficient way to cover the standards?  Much of my research has found that there are many different ways to implement this program, I guess the biggest question I have is, will the highly scripted program we were given along with specific training have an impact on teaching our students to the new standards?  Or should we be given the freedom to use different aspects of the program and other writing workshop ideas as well as lessons from previous years to fit the needs of our students?





Leave a Reply.