What am I finding as I collect data?


Well, this week is not the week to begin to collect data. Our district has just sent out a pretty important survey regarding a Strategic Plan for 2014-2015.  We also attended a two day inservice presented by SERRC South East Regional Resource Center. The topic presented was The Art and Science of Learning.  We are implementing a standards based model of instruction and grading, using the Marzano learning map.


My focus group, my grade-level team was my target audience to interview.  I have not yet received a completed survey.  I did speak briefly to a few of them at inservice and hope for some data to arrive soon, via my survey monkey.


This weekend I am attending NEA Alaska's Fall Event 2013 in Anchorage.  This year's theme is "Building Bridges for a Brighter Tomorrow."  Much of the current legislation is being discussed and ideas for parent and community collaboration.  I am learning so much!  

I look forward to getting feedback from my survey as I continue with this learning process.
10/11/2013 05:19:11 pm

I really like marzano. Our site has read and implemented many of his ideals. I hope your survey gets some responses. Would it be helpful if we (your PLN) also took your survey?

Reply
Carrollea Hubbard
10/12/2013 12:42:08 pm

It sounds like you are in the heart of Action Research. How exciting!
Hopefully Survey Monkey will produce soon.
I viewed the Marzano Center website, interesting.
Keep up the great work,
Carrollea

Reply
10/13/2013 09:15:07 am

I can relate to your experiences this week. I missed out on a couple of days as well and next week doesn't look any better. I guess this means we'll be trying to gather as much info as we can in the short time available. Perhaps you will have to resort to face-to-face interviews if your survey doesn't yield as many results as expected. Let's hope the survey results come through. If not, Lenore's suggestion to use your PLN may be a great option. Hang in there!

Reply
shauna
10/13/2013 10:51:34 am

I can relate with your experiences. I think, as teacher, we just need to take it one step at a time and just keep on keeping on. It seems like every week has been like that for me. I have found myself completely frustrated with the amount of time I am spending on my regular classroom, because I have so little time for my coursework I am taking.
Nonetheless, I have found it really helpful to email the professor to help guide my thinking in order to complete the coursework.
I hope your work load lessens so you can get this done. I know if it was not for the 3 week extension, I was about to have a meltdown.

Reply
chris carlson
10/13/2013 04:51:27 pm

I enjoyed looking over the Marzano learning map. I just asked permission to use it on my website. Having a thorough checklist when I'm designing lessons helps a great deal. I'm having difficulty getting clearance from my district to start the research because every internal research project needs formal approval. Thanks for the tip on Marzano.

Reply



Leave a Reply.